• Deborah Shore

    Executive Director and Founder

    As founder and executive director of Sasha Bruce Youthwork, Deborah Shore has led groundbreaking work in youth and family service development in the District of Columbia. Through three decades of mission-driven work, Ms. Shore and SBY have developed a deep understanding of the needs of troubled youth and families and unsurpassed expertise to meet these needs. Her vision for empowering at-risk and homeless youth through a competency-based approach to counseling and supportive services has been enhanced through the recruitment and training of an exceptional staff and the development of strong management systems to ensure that SBY’s work meets the highest standards of quality and cost-effectiveness. Ms. Shore has received several awards for her leadership in the nonprofit sector, most recently a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Network for Youth.

  • Vera Johnson-Bowlding

    Managing Director of Community Programs and Engagement

    Vera Johnson-Bowlding has worked at SBY since 1977 and currently serves as the organization’s director of community programs and engagement. Ms. Johnson-Bowlding has filled several leadership roles at SBY including supervisor, trainer and program developer and her contributions over three decades have been central to making SBY a premiere provider of youth and family services in the nation’s capital. Ms. Johnson-Bowlding has served on many boards and committees, including the Consortium for Child Welfare, the Consortium for Youth Services, the Far Southeast Family Strengthening Collaborative, the South Washington Family Strengthening Collaborative, and the DC HIV Prevention Community Planning Committee. She has a master’s degree in counseling and LGSW accreditation.

  • James Beck

    Development Director

    James Beck has 15 years of executive experience in the nonprofit human services sector. His commitment to mission-driven service organizations is demonstrated by his participation on several nonprofit boards in San Francisco and Maryland. Mr. Beck’s core expertise is in fundraising, design, implementation, and evaluation of strategic initiatives and programs, contract compliance, community relations, board development and organizational governance. A founder of a medically monitored syringe exchange specifically for homeless youth, Mr. Beck received a Master’s Degree in nonprofit administration from the University of San Francisco.

  • Vicki Edwards

    Chief Financial Officer

  • Ginny Hughes

    Clinical Director

  • Sheila Thomas

    Human Resources Director


  • A Gala at the British Embassy - September 23

  • Art Therapy

  • Awaiting Placement Program

    Georggetta Howie

    Program Manager

  • Beet Street Gardens Partnership

  • Chloe House

    Oliver Carter

    Program Manager

  • Educational Advocacy

  • Educational Network and College Tour

  • Help the Homeless Campaign

  • Independent Living Program

    Marilaine Francisco

    Program Manager

  • Join Us for a Night of Rockjazz

  • Kindred Connections

  • Olaiya’s Cradle

    Stacy Snow

    Program Manager

  • P.O.W.E.R. Program

    Margaux Delotte-Bennett


    Ms. Delotte-Bennett oversees SBY’s health services, including its street outreach work and HIV and pregnancy prevention services. She serves on the board of Sol y Soul, a social justice performance organization. Ms. Delotte-Bennett has a Masters in Social Work from Gallaudet University.

  • Parent Support Group

  • Prevention Center

    Charles Dark

    Program Manager

  • Project HYPE

    Victoria Van Heuven


  • Project Safe Neighborhoods

    Dan Davis


  • Project Safe Place

  • Promise Place

    Saida Agostini

    Program Manager

  • Randall Community Center

    Clynthia Graham

    Program Manager

  • Re*Generation House

    Katrina Burt


    Mercedes Daley

    Program Manager


    George Johnson


  • Respite and Family Preservation Program

  • Richardson Youth Center

  • Rites of Passage

  • Sasha Bruce House

    George Johnson

    Site Director

    George Johnson began his professional tenure at SBY at the Bruce House shelter in 1987. He coordinates and supervises several congregate care programs aimed at stabilizing youth and reuniting them with stable living situations. Mr. Johnson is an active speaker at public events.

    LaShelle Richmond

    Program Manager

    LaShelle Richmond serves as the Clinical Coordinator for SBY’s Dating Violence Prevention Project and its Bruce House Shelter. She has worked with the organization since 2000, first as a residential counselor at the agency’s short term emergency shelter, and then from 2002 to 2004 as the Program Director for the REACH (Residential Empowerment Adolescent Community Home) Program. As Clinical Coordinator, Ms. Richmond oversees all aspects of the counseling services for runaway youth and she assists with new SBY project development. An LICSW, Ms. Richmond’s previous experiences with SBY’s male pre-adjudicated population as the Program Director of REACH give her significant insight into designing approaches to target SBY’s young men.

  • Substance Abuse Initiative

  • Summer Enrichment Program

  • Teen Mothers Program

  • Teen Mothers Program and Olaiya’s Cradle

  • Teen Outreach Program (TOP)

    Melva Williams


  • Transitional Housing Program

    Katrina Burt


  • V Street Permanent Housing Program

    Janine McCall

    Program Manager

  • Workforce Development and YouthBuild

    Kenneth Walker


  • Youth Advisory Board

  • Youth-Led

    Todd Elliot


  • YouthBiz

  • Zocalo Outreach Program

  • Zocalo Outreach Program

Board of Directors

  • Tracy M. Bernstein, chair

    Consultant, Fundraiser, Community Leader

  • Judy Lansing Kovler, PhD, vice chair

    Psychiatric Social Worker, Private Practice

  • W. Dean Smith, treasurer

    Investment Manager, Capital Group Companies

  • Ann Jordan, secretary

    Community Leader

  • Christopher Addison, chair, fundraising committee

    Principal, Addison/Ripley Fine Art

  • Elizabeth Stevens, chair emeritus

    Philanthropist and Community Activist

  • Peter Anthony


  • Elana Broitman


  • Travis Brown, Jr.

    Principal, Travis Brown, LLC

  • Constance L. Bruce


  • Jane Rosenthal Cafritz

    Interior Designer, Jane Cafritz Antiques and Interiors

  • Nicole Cosby


  • Larry Fullerton

    Senior Counsel, Sidley Austin LLP

  • Edgar N. James

    Attorney, James & Hoffman

  • Keith Lemer

    President, WellNet Healthcare

  • Michael S. Mandel

    Partner / Attorney, Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

  • Waldo G. McMillan Jr.


  • Shaunda Patterson-Strachan

    Shareholder, Carlton Fields Jorden Burt, P.A.

  • Lee Satterfield

    Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State

  • Brian P. Woolfolk


  • Bob Wulff

    Director, Center for Real Estate Entrepreneurship, George Mason University

In this section

Stay In Touch